layout image

34th International Geological Congress Organising Committee

australian geoscience council logo

The Australian Geoscience Council Incorporated (AGC) is the organising body responsible for the 34th International Geological Congress. The AGC is the Council of Presidents of the major Australian geoscientific societies and is the peak representative body for the 7000 geoscientists in Australia.

A strong and experienced IGC Preparatory Committee has been convened. The President and Secretary General are Drs Neil Williams, former CEO of Geoscience Australia, and Ian Lambert from Geoscience Australia, the national geological survey and spatial information agency.

Dr Neil Williams PSM
Former Chief Executive Officer of Geoscience Australia

ian lambert

Secretary General
Dr Ian Lambert

Organising Committee

President Neil Williams
University of Wollongong
Secretary General Ian Lambert
Geoscience Australia
Deputy Secretary Generals
Paul Kay
Geoscience Australia
  Paulo Vasconcelos
University of Queensland
Scientific Program Chair
Lynton Jaques
Australian National University
Finance Committee Chair
Miriam Way
Field Trips Committee Chair
David Mason
Geological Survey of Queensland
Sponsorship Committee Chair
Ashley Gordon
Carillon Conference Management
Committee Members
Mark Berry
Australian Institute of Geoscientists
  Hamish Campbell
GNS Science (New Zealand)
  David Denham
  Geoff Dickie
Queensland Resources Council
  Maurie Drew
Petroleum Exploration Society of Australia
  Jonathan Gordon
Carillon Conference Management
  Michael Leggo
Australia Geoscience Council
  Alex Malahoff
GNS Science (New Zealand)
  Robert Murdoch
  Gabriella Perlingeiro
University of Queensland
  Colin Simpson
  Michael Smith
Australian Geoscience Council
George Gibson
Geoscience Australia
  Robert Day
  Suzy Domitrovic
Geoscience Australia
  Sandra Passario Queensland Events
  Alf Simpson


Congress Manager

Carillon Conference Management Pty Limited


layout image